Reviews & Interviews:

Melissa Fay Greene—Author and Two-time National Book Award Finalist: At once the oldest and newest type of river trip (the title is a pun). “A pair of wise-cracking middle-aged gay white men from Texas renovate an old yacht and cross the country with her--knowing full well they're going to baffle and flummox most of the boat-loving heterosexual citizens they meet in Midwestern river towns every night.” 5 Stars.

Stacey Ritz—Stacey Ritz Books: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America. “I always enjoys well-written memoirs and Watson's book does not disappoint.” 5 Stars.

December 1, 2018. Movers & Makers Magazine, Cincinnati. December '18/January '19 edition. Page 12. Alexander Watson: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America. Two middle-aged men rescue a dog and an aging Chris-Craft and set out to explore America’s Inland Waterways: destination Cincinnati. (Orange Frazer Press)

November 28, 2018. Dr. Barbara Tye—“I didn’t want this book to end, so I read it a second time.” Not Rated.


November 24, 2018. Daniela W—Books to get lost in: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America. “River Queens reads like a classic, one that my teacher could have chosen for class.” 4.5 Stars.

November 15, 2018. Keith Gerritz, professor emeritus, Wilmington College—“At first, River Queens, purchased by my wife for me, took me aback, but after dutifully reading the back cover, the flaps, and the prologue, I got into the first chapter only to discover that it is a remarkable and unique book with setting and characters blending together to bring back memories of my father and his older brother as teenagers on the upper Mississippi during the 1920s, scavenging abandoned and wrecked boats to make them river-worthy, sewing new sails so they could sail that part of the river near Little Falls, Minnesota, where Charles Lindbergh had grown up to fly alone across the Atlantic.”

November 10, 2018. Herb DuVal—Playwright—“Alexander Watson's book about the purchase, restoration of a classic wooden yacht, and eventual odyssey to the hilly port of Cincinnati could have taken many paths: It could have been a buddy movie, with Dale Harris as the noble sidekick, the Sundance Kid to Alexander's Butch, but it isn't.” Not Rated.

October 31, 2018. Clive—Whispering Stories: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America. “The book is extremely easy to read and I finished it in a few days. The light hearted narrative skips along with plenty of conversation and humour.” 3.5 Stars.

October 26, 2018. Kathleen Garber—SMS Nonfiction Book Reviews: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, AmericaIf you enjoy travel memoirs and/or love or are interested in boating than you will really enjoy this book.” 3 Stars.

October 22, 2018. Rosie Amber—Rosie Amber: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America. “I don’t know anything about boats, but I could follow much of the technical terminology. Once the duo were underway on their trip, the snippets of information about the rivers, the river-folk and the marinas brought the pages to life.” 4 Stars.

October 10, 2018. Jason Brown—Toast Toasted (https://Toastx2.blogspot.com): River Queens: Keeping good company with Huck and Hemingway.Based on a review copy of the book, I was pleased that my initial impressions were shallow.” 5 stars.

October 7, 2018. Stephanie Alford—7Stillwell: REVIEW: RIVER QUEENS: “Alexander Watson’s writing is elegant and the story of River Queens is so compelling I’m having a hard time finding my objectivity.” Not Rated.

October 1, 2018. Amy Shannon—Amy's Bookshelf Reviews: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America by Alexander Watson. “There is a part that sticks with me, and it's just something that Dale says to his mother. "Home is where Alexander is." I found this story inviting, and well told.” 4 Stars.

Interviews:

Screen Shot Tim Ray & Alexander Watson.png

UI Media Network, Roswell, GA, The Good Intentions Show with Tim Ray. Audio only via TuneIn Radio Video via Facebook.