Reviews

 

 
Click to link

Click to link

Publishers Weekly

“This is a heartwarming look into the heart of America.”

 
 
 
Melissa Fay Greene. Click image for full review.

Melissa Fay Greene. Click image for full review.

Melissa Fay Greene

Melissa Fay Greene—Author and Two-time National Book Award Finalist.

I cannot figure out why a book about two middle-aged white guys in the antiques-and-renovations business in Dallas, who find a decrepit sixty-year-old wooden yacht on the verge of sinking to the bottom of a Texas lake, pay good money for her, name her Betty Jane, restore her, move aboard with their rescue Dalmatian, and then putter off across the middle of the United States from Oklahoma to Ohio without really knowing what they’re doing is keeping me up nights.”

 
 
 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Stacey Ritz

Stacey Ritz Books:I always enjoys well-written memoirs and Watson's book does not disappoint.”

 
 
 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Carol Brickell,

Author of Cinco the Clinic Cat.

June 4, 2019. “River Queens provides the opportunity to see a glimpse of America in a new way and to experience the hospitality of the people who live and work along the river. Alexander captures the expedition, the relationship with his partner, and various encounters with vivid descriptions and sparkling dialog…I highly recommend River Queens!”

 

Rod Baker, Publisher

The Ledger Independent. March 5, 2019—“Your presentation was much different than what we typically have at Rotary, in a very good way. Not taking anything away from others who have presented, I found what you shared to be both interesting and entertaining. Learning about your leap of faith with the purchase of the Betty Jane, and the subsequent journeys on the rivers from Oklahoma to the Queen City, was fascinating.  You hooked me when you took the time to read a portion of the book from an event that took place at Paris Landing in Tennessee.  Can’t wait to read your book to learn more.  Thank you for sharing your story.”

 

Click to Enlarge.

WoodenBoat Magazine

March 1, 2019—“A good read.”

 
Click image for full review,

Click image for full review,

Geoff Whaley

February 12, 2019. The Oddness of Moving Things @geoff_whaley: “I realized that I was doing to Watson, a gay man in the south, that Watson on rare occasion (but far less than you would imagine) did to the people he encountered on and around the rivers he traveled. I was scoffing at the entire region I grew up in (the South) and the country-ness of Watson from my high urban city-gay point of view and I had to check that, because I felt Watson did a great job of portraying most of the people he encountered realistically. His writing evoked a sense of place you would only know if you’ve been to and his vivid portrayals of those he encountered immediately brought the people to life.”

 
 
 

Movers & Makers Magazine, Cincinnati.

December '18/January '19 edition. Page 12. Alexander Watson: River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America. Two middle-aged men rescue a dog and an aging Chris-Craft and set out to explore America’s Inland Waterways: destination Cincinnati. (Orange Frazer Press)

 
 
 
Click Image and Scroll down for full review.

Click Image and Scroll down for full review.

Michael Dunford

January 2019. Midwest Book Review. “Impressively written and inherently engaging from beginning to end, "River Queens" is a very special 'real world' adventure story in the form of a unique, thoughtful and thought-provoking travel journal.” 

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Tinted Edges

January 30, 2019. “This is a lovely book. Watson captures the domestic dynamic between Alexander and Dale in a beautiful way: creative and tempestuous Alexander draws on his experience from antiques and quiet and reliable Dale is the ship’s captain. Doris Faye is the beloved mascot who wins over every stranger.”

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

An Angry Old Man Reviews Books

January 28, 2019. “So there's strike two for poor judgment…I also learned that most boats are either a) broken, b) recently fixed, or c) about to break, and often two or three of those things at once.”

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Never Hollowed by the Stare

January 15, 2019. “I browsed the first few pages just to get a feel of the book and before I even realized, I have already read through half of it! This is one of the most engaging and easiest books to read.”

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Barbara Searles

December 27, 2018. The Bibliophage, @barbarasearles: “River Queens is the story of a voyage through America. But more than that, it’s the story of Alexander Watson, Dale Harris, their dog Doris Faye, and their boat the Betty Jane. It made me laugh, learn, and even shed a tear.”

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Leo Bradley

Ed D, Professor Emeritus, Educational Administration Program, College of Professional Sciences, Xavier University

December 26, 2018.

We live in a divided country culturally and politically, but River Queens gives hope that understanding and even acceptance is still within the American grasp.

 
Click Image for Review.

Click Image for Review.

IJ

November 30, 2018. For the Southwest by the Southwest: “If you are gay.. read it… if you aren’t gay read it..if you are an American read it..if you love boating and are a river rat..read it!”

 
Click image for full review.

Click image for full review.

Dr. Barbara Tye

November 28, 2018. “I didn’t want this book to end, so I read it a second time.”

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Daniela W

November 24, 2018. Books to get lost in:River Queens reads like a classic, one that my teacher could have chosen for class.” 4.5 Stars.

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Keith Gerritz

Professor emeritus, Wilmington College

November 15, 2018. “ I got into the first chapter only to discover that it is a remarkable and unique book with setting and characters blending together to bring back memories of my father and his older brother as teenagers on the upper Mississippi during the 1920s.”

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Herb DuVaL

Playwright

November 10, 2018. “ It could have been a buddy movie, with Dale Harris as the noble sidekick, the Sundance Kid to Alexander's Butch, but it isn't.”

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Clive

October 31, 2018. Whispering Stories: The book is extremely easy to read and I finished it in a few days. The light hearted narrative skips along with plenty of conversation and humour.”

 

Kathleen Garber

October 26, 2018. SMS Nonfiction Book Reviews:If you enjoy travel memoirs and/or love or are interested in boating than you will really enjoy this book.” 3 Stars.

Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

 
Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

Rosie Amber

October 22, 2018. Rosie Amber:I don’t know anything about boats, but I could follow much of the technical terminology. Once the duo were underway on their trip, the snippets of information about the rivers, the river-folk and the marinas brought the pages to life.”

 

Jason Brown

October 10, 2018. Toast Toasted:Based on a review copy of the book, I was pleased that my initial impressions were shallow.”

Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.

 

Stephanie Alford

October 7, 2018. 7Stillwell: “Alexander Watson’s writing is elegant and the story of River Queens is so compelling I’m having a hard time finding my objectivity.”

 

Amy Shannon

October 1, 2018. Amy's Bookshelf Reviews: There is a part that sticks with me, and it's just something that Dale says to his mother. ‘Home is where Alexander is.’ I found this story inviting, and well told.”

Click Image for full review.

Click Image for full review.